Awards > Best Paper Award

The International Conference on Dependable Systems and Networks (DSN) is pleased to announce that the Best Paper Award (BPA), created in DSN 2015 edition, will continue this year.

This year, attendees will have the opportunity to vote for the best paper among the three candidate papers:

A Quantitative Methodology for Security Monitor Deployment
Uttam Thakore, Gabriel A. Weaver, William H. Sanders (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, US)

Dynamic Scalable State Machine Replication
Long Hoang Le, Carlos Eduardo Bezerra, Fernando Pedone (University of Lugano, CH)

OSIRIS: Efficient and Consistent Recovery of Compartmentalized Operating Systems
Koustubha Bhat, Dirk Vogt, Erik van der Kouwe, Ben Gras, Lionel Sambuc, Andrew Tanenbaum, Herbert Bos, Cristiano Giuffrida (Vrije University Amsterdam, NL)

The following is a summary of the BPA selection process, as announced in the call for contributions.

  • Phase 1: At the conclusion of the DSN Program Committee meeting, the Program Committee will select from 1 to 6 papers to be considered for the BPA.
  • Phase 2: After the Program Committee meeting, the DSN Steering Committee will select from 1 to 3 papers from those selected by the Program Committee to be BPA Finalists. BPA finalists will be announced publicly before the conference.
  • Phase 3: In-person voting by DSN attendees
    • BPA Finalists will be presented together in a plenary session at DSN.
    • Each registered person who attends the BPA session will have the right to vote. If there is a unique BPA Finalist, no vote is necessary and the paper will be the DSN Best Paper.
    • The vote will be done by secret ballot at the end of the BPA session.
    • Votes will be counted by Steering Committee members who are present at DSN and the winner will be announced at the DSN Banquet.
    • In case of a tie, all BPA Finalists receiving the most votes will be BPA winners.
  • Note: There is no monetary award given to the BPA authors
Online user: 1 RSS Feed