Final Program > Jean-Claude Laprie Session

Jean-Claude Laprie Session
Tuesday, June 28th, 2016, 17:30 – 19:00
Chairs: Mohamed Kaâniche, Karama Kanoun (LAAS-CNRS, FR); Paulo Verissimo (Univ. Luxembourg, LU)


 A short bio of Jean-Claude Laprie

 Presentation of the 2016 Jean-Laprie awards

 A retrospective of Jean-Claude and of the award

-       Brief presentations by previous recipients of 2012-2015 awards
-       Brief testimonials about Jean Claude the person and his contributions


Jean-Claude Laprie (1944-2010)

LAAS-CNRS: Founder and Head of the Dependable Computing and Fault Tolerance Research group (1975-1996); Founder and Director of the Laboratory for Dependability Engineering (1992-1996; Director of LAAS (1997-2002)
IEEE Computer Society: Chair of the TC on Fault Tolerant Computing (1984-1985)
IFIP: Vice-President (2002-2008), Chair of WG 10.4 on Dependable Computing and Fault-Tolerance (1986-1995)

Jean-Claude Laprie was “Directeur de Recherche” at LAAS-CNRS. His career was fully devoted to dependability of computing systems. His contributions to the formulation of the concepts and methodologies of dependability rapidly granted him an international leadership. Jean-Claude was a widely respected leader, a source of inspiration for several young researchers and professionals, and an active member in the FTCS and DSN communities. In particular, he organized the FTCS-8 and FTC23 editions in Toulouse in 1978 and 1993, and the IFIP World Computer Congress in 2004. His exceptional scientific qualities and vision have been recognized by several responsibilities within the IFIP and the IEEE Computer Society, and in France. He received the IFIP Silver Core in 1992, the Silver Medal of the CNRS (The French National Center for Scientific Research) in 1993, and the Grand Prize in Informatics of the French Academy of Sciences in 2009. He was made Chevalier de l'Ordre National du Mérite in 2002.

Jean-Claude Laprie Award

The Jean-Claude Laprie Award in Dependable Computing has been awarded annually since 2012 by the IFIP Working Group 10.4 on Dependable Computing and Fault Tolerance in his honor. The award recognizes outstanding papers that have significantly influenced the theory and/or practice of Dependable Computing. It takes the form of a memorial plaque presented to the author(s) at the Annual IEEE/IFIP International Conference on Dependable Systems and Networks. Any paper relating to dependable and secure computing, and published at least 10 years prior to the award year (e.g., 2006 or earlier for the 2016 award) is eligible for the award.

List of recognized papers

DSN 2016

  • W.C. Carter and P.R. Schneider, Design of Dynamically Checked Computers, Proceedings of the IFIP Congress, Vol.2, pp.878 – 883 (1968).
  • A. Avizienis, J.C. Laprie, B. Randell and C. Landwehr, Basic Concepts and Taxonomy of Dependable and Secure Computing, IEEE Transactions on Dependable and Secure Computing. Vol.1. No.1, pp.1 - 23 (2004).

DSN 2015

  • A. L. Hopkins, Jr., T.B. Smith, III and J.H. Lala. “FTMP – A Highly Reliable Fault-Tolerant Multiprocessor for Aircraft”.  Proceedings of the IEEE, Vol. 66, No. 10, October 1978.

DSN 2014

  • B. Randell, “System Structure for Software Fault Tolerance”, IEEE Transactions on Software Engineering, vol.SE-1, no.1, 1975, pp 220-232.
  • J.H. Wensley, L. Lamport, J. Goldberg, M.W. Green, K.N. Levitt, P.M. Melliar-Smith, R.E. Shostak and C.B. Weinstock, “SIFT: The Design and Analysis of a Fault-Tolerant Computer for Aircraft Control”, Proceedings of the IEEE, vol.66, no.10, 1978, pp.1240-1255.
  • H. Kopetz and G. Bauer, “The Time-Triggered Architecture”, Proceedings of the IEEE, vol.91, no.1, 2003, pp. 112-126

DSN 2013

  • L. Lamport, R. Shostak and M. Pease, “The Byzantine Generals Problem”, ACM Transactions on Programming Languages and Systems, vol. 4, no. 3, July 1982 pp. 382-401.
  • J. Gray, “Why Do Computers Stop and What Can Be Done About It?”, In 5th Symposium on Reliability in Distributed Software and Database Systems, pp. 3-12. IEEE, 1986.
  • W.G. Bouricius, W.C. Carter and P.R. Schneider, “Reliability Modeling Techniques for Self-Repairing Computer Systems”, In 24th ACM National Conference, pp. 295-309, 1969.

DSN 2012

  • A. Avizienis, “Design of fault-tolerant computers,” in AFIPS Fall Joint Computer Conference, 1967, pp. 733-743
  • J. F. Meyer, “On evaluating the performability of degradable computing systems,” IEEE Transactions on Computers, vol. C-29, no. 8, pp. 720-731, 1980
  • D. A. Patterson, G. Gibson and R. H. Katz, “A case for redundant arrays of inexpensive disks (RAID),” in ACM SIGMOD International Conference on Management of Data, 1988, vol. 17, no. 3, pp. 109-116
Online user: 1 RSS Feed